What makes a beautiful bed?

24 Feb

untitled-1

What elements make up a great bed? Of course the first, and most important thing is comfort. The linens on a bed have to feel good against the skin and keep us at a comfortable temperature. They have  to breath, allowing air to circulate and keep us dry. Buy linens made of natural fibers. Natural fibers breath and allow temperature to rise and lower as our body temperature does.

These sheets are the best sheets ever! (I particularly love the bella sheets from Bella Notte linens bottom left corner)

mar_sheets_large1linenlace_sheet_large1

bella-sheets_largesheetslinen_large

bedroomviabountifulhome

A bed should also be inviting. A bed that makes us want to run and dive into it. People’s taste differ and everyone has a different idea of what makes them want to do the “run and dive”, so I can only answer for myself.

For me, it is all about layers. I like to start with a neutral base, like a coverlet in white or champagne. Depending on the season the coverlet may be covering the bed with a fluffy duvet at the end, or the duvet may cover the bed with the coverlet at the end.

The more pillows the better. I like to have four levels of pillows, starting with two or three euro shams in the back, then two standard shams, a medium size throw pillow, and a grouping or smaller decorative pillows. I am in love with the small linen pillow I purchased recently, filled with lavender. It makes my bed smell fresh and luxurious.

Here are some beds that I love; layers and layers of luxurious linens.

050908_anth1

647012-0025

6a00e554d7b8278833010536cf46ab970c-500wi

103_4

2115418317_bbc1b191fd

___round_top_2_-_01

desiretoinspire61

1854-10_alt1

picture5

elegant_large

james_merril_1_bedroom

april2008-mum-charlottemoss

Look at the bedskirt on this bed, beautiful! And I love the puff at the end of the bed.

sarahkayerosehammick3

img954

My number one tip for creating a beautiful bed: Don’t buy a set of bedding. Buy bedding in pieces, mixing and matching as you go. A bedding set lacks creativity and originality. It will take time to find each perfect piece, but it will be a creation you can be proud of.

robynglaser3

I always wash my bed linens with “Linen Wash” to keep them nice. A lavender dryer sachet will keep them smelling fresh.

linenwashlinensachets

About the bedframe, I am loving french cane beds and wingback beds.

165

wingback4

7 Responses to “What makes a beautiful bed?”

  1. Leigh Chandler March 30, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    What a beautiful presentation of linens! I am thrilled that you have chosen a picture of mine for this blog. I would like you to know that my company’s name has been Papillon Linens for two years now and not the original company name that I started with – Pom Pom Maison. I’ve had so many hits from your blog that I thought I would let you know and also I am glad to have found such a great blog as yours! Thanks again, Leigh

  2. Charline T aylor January 24, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    I am trying to find out where I can get a queen size wingside bed,not too expensive. I see you show one here on this page. Where would I buy this lovely bed?

  3. Gena Cornett August 14, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Oh, my gosh! Those are gorgeous beds! One comment is that under the sheets, using a mattress topper, featherbed or other type of mattress pad with create comfy softness that you will want to “dive into” – love that expression! An extra layer under the sheets also gives the bed an extra plush look.

  4. Susan January 29, 2013 at 1:33 am #

    Where did you find the last wingback bed?! Very pretty!

  5. Angela Mitsopoulos August 3, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Where can I find that wingback bed? It’s perfect!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creating Gorgeous Beds with Comfort Sleepers | CozyHomez - March 8, 2013

    […] are competitively priced. Design Fabulous has a post full of gorgeous photos for inspiration over here. The beds are traditional, but you can use many of the same ideas for comfort sleepers. In the […]

Leave a Reply

