Sweet Home, Carolina!

19 Mar

wilmington-azeala-m

I am going home to visit my family, in good ol’ North Carolina. Home, sweet, home! So I thought I would share just a few of the things I love about North Carolina.

10_31_geese_on_lake_norman_nc

This is a picture of geese on Lake Norman. This is where I grew up, pretty huh?

newbiltmorehouse_550

I LOVE the Biltmore House, in Asheville, NC. I went, for the first time, this Christmas to see the beautiful decorations. It was amazing. All the beautiful decor was a treat for me, and my husband even liked the audio tour that revealed all the history behind the house. I was so excited that we BOTH enjoyed ourselves.

librarycmyk

This was my husbands favorite room, the library. There were so many books, and the room was so beautiful. Check out the painting on the ceiling.

banquet_hall_aerialcmyk

The grand hall was decorated for Christmas. It had the biggest Christmas tree I have ever seen.

mrs_vand_roomcmyk

This was my favorite room, Mrs. Vanderbilt’s bedroom. The damask was a flocked velvet, so beautiful. The picture is nice, but just doesn’t do it justice. It amazes me how this looks like a room I would see today in a magazine. The historic preserves recreate the rooms exactly the way they were, using pictures, scraps of wallpaper, and anything else they can find to reveal the original nature of the rooms.

mr_vanderbilt_bedroomcmyk

This was Mr. Vanderbilt’s bedroom. They had separate bedrooms because it would not be proper for female servants to enter a man’s bedroom and male servant to enter a woman’s bedroom. You can get a peak at the original clawfoot tub in the mirror in the bathroom. Look close.

3-biltmore-azalea

One of my favorite things about North Carolina, are the beautiful azaleas. Biltmore has a huge azalea garden. I haven’t been to see them yet, but I hope to this spring.

lg_dye11finl_lmf3

One of my favorite places to visit is Mrytle Beach. It is known for it’s world class golf. I’m not a golfer myself, but I love the wide beach. It is very commercialized, but I don’t mind having lots of things to do. If you like a quiet beach trip, the outer banks is another great place to visit in NC.

4 Responses to “Sweet Home, Carolina!”

  1. Gina March 21, 2009 at 7:59 pm #

    Hey, just found your blog from a comment left on bloomacious, and thought I’d stop by (I love finding new blogs!). You’re so lucky to have gone into the Biltmore- I’ve only been able to drive onto the property before finding out the steep admission price!

    And I agree- NC is wonderful! I’ve got family there and everytime I go, it feels like home! =)

    • designfabulous March 22, 2009 at 2:22 am #

      Thank you for checking out my blog. I hope you get to go inside the Biltmore some day. It is a steap price but I thought well worth it. Thanks for your comment, I love hearing from people.

  2. charmaine March 28, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    Hello! i love this post, so pretty. i’m a southern girl also, but i’ve never been to North Carolina. i’ve always wanted to visit. i love the images of the geese. i also want to visit the Biltmore House, the rooms are so pretty. i hear North Carolina have some of the best bed and breakfast. i have to visit this place.these images are breath taking. i also love your blog. i’ll be back to visit. thanks for sharing. have a wonderful weekend!

    God Bless,
    Charmaine

  3. charmaine March 30, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    wow! Katrina, thank you for the nice compliment. i too feel the same about your fabulously beautiful blog! have a good day!

    God Bless,
    Charmaine

Leave a Reply

