Random Inspiration, some of my favorite kind.

18 Aug

3-lyonpalm-0509-xlg-73092750

Some fabulous random inspiration for ya’. I love the tone on tone neutrals in this first pic. The art above the fireplace adds just enough warmth to the room with splashes of yellow. One of the best things about this room is the warm light streaming through the big french doors, although everything is pretty fabulous is this room.

111

I love the symmetry in this room. Sometimes symmetry is just the way to go. I also love how they separated the large room with two different seating arrangements (one in front of the sofa, and one behind). This is such a great way to make a large room more intimate. A great suggestion when arranging furniture, put the sofa in the center of the room and not against the wall (if there is any possible way to do so). It creates a much more interesting designer look and breaks up an open floor plan by visually creating separate spaces.

17

The warmth in this room is amazing. yet everything in the room isn’t dark and overpowering (an easy mistake I see people make when trying to create a warm color palette). The key: add splashes of warm color in a mostly neutral room. I love how they placed the large art piece above the fireplace, in cool blue tones, to break up the warm tones. This creates just enough contrast to relax the eye, another reason why this room is not overwhelmingly warm and dark.

image_thumb72

Ah, my favorite color, pink. Just a few splashes will due. The window treatment is amazing in this room. This classic with a great pleated detail is fabulous, and is paired with panels in the same fabric (just goes to show that you can use different window treatment styles in the same room in some cases). Love the soft linen sofa!

morgan_howarth_lr_thumb

Wow, warm gold and beige tones with white walls! It does work! I have been saying this to my clients for years and this is such a great picture to dig up for a little backup now’n’then. I love the splashes of warm orange and the artwork is amazing.

janshowers_wi[5]

I love the yellow sofa, and these last two rooms happens to be some of the few times I say white walls rock! Key here, fill the room with color and texture elsewhere, and the walls can be white and fabulous. Another key, you simply must have fabulous artwork on white walls.

pics via House Beautiful, Desire to Inspire, CotedeTexas, Things that Inspire 
4 Responses to “Random Inspiration, some of my favorite kind.”

  1. Sara LaBiosa August 18, 2009 at 2:15 am #

    Love the pictures. I liked how you pulled a lot of photos of rooms that have a warm feeling without using “dark” colors. Something I never really thought about. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Sarah Klassen/Haute Design August 19, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    Such beautiful rooms! I can’t choose a favorite, to be honest.
    I love so many elements…

    * the calm nature of image 01 (and the sofa!)
    * the fun and cheerful look of image 03
    * the touches of pink in image 04 / where oh where did they find that chair!?
    the artwork is nice, also. Very simple and elegant.

    Such chic spaces ~

  3. Paula Grace August 20, 2009 at 3:33 am #

    I think the first room is wonderful. Elegant. I really like the fireplace. Love the chair and mirror in the pink room. Nice pics!
    Paula Grace ~
    http://www.paulagracedesigns.blogspot.com/

  4. FROM THE RIGHT BANK August 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm #

    These are all very elegant rooms. Pops of pink get me every time!

Leave a Reply

