An amazing makeover!!

25 Aug

“Before”

dining-room-before

A few weeks ago I challenged myself to makeover a room in my home for $200 or less. I could pull anything from my home I already owned (as long as I am not making the room I pulled from ugly!!) and spend a total of $200 or less for the entire room. I decided to challenge my readers to do the same. I called it the “$200 or less room makeover challenge”. I got a couple responses from my readers saying they would accept my challenge. Yesterday, I received my first “before and after’s” of an amazing makeover from Britt over at A Penny Saved, and I was truly blown away. She spent almost half the allotted amount and the transformation is truly fabulous. Above is the before of Britt’s dining room. Not to bad huh? Simple, yet lacking a little interest. Well, obviously Britt was thinking on the same wavelength because look at the after.

“After’s”

hand-painted-wallpaper-mura

diy-lined-drapes

painted-wallpaper-mural

recovered-chair-with-pleateWow, wow, um wow! Are you saying this with me? You may be wandering how she could afford a beautiful damask wallpaper on such a little budget. Well, that ain’t wallpaper my friend. She hand sketched and painted the entire room following an extremely expensive damask wallpaper she fell in love with from Farrow and Ball. I love it. I think she is so brave to attempt it, because I would be terrified I would get it crooked! She made the curtains herself, lining them with queen sheets, added a lamp on the buffet and a few ceramic apples (so well placed). She used a buffet, rug, table and chairs, and mirror she already had, but did you notice the chair makeover. A pleated skirt was added to the seats using a staple gun, not a sewing machine (click here to see how she did it). That’s right a staple gun!!  So her grand total…$109.00. Well done Britt, you are so creative and inspiring!! Go check out her blog! It is full of creative ideas such as these! I am so glad I did this makeover challenge so I could have the privilege to share with you Britt’s creative ideas and fabulous blog.

If anyone else is working on their makeover room and wants to send me the pics send them to katrinaschlomann@gmail.com

Can’t wait to show you my makeover next!

Items bought before moving:
Buffet
Table
Chairs
Mirror
Rug

Items bought/made for this room:
Drapes and hardware – $30 for the homemade drapes and $15 for the hardware
Lamp – $20 from craigslist
Chair makeover – $8
Ceramic apples – $6
Mural – $30
Total = $109

5 Responses to “An amazing makeover!!”

  1. Britt August 26, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Oh wow! Thanks so much for featuring my room! I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you yet with more details – do you still need any more information? Thanks again!

    • designfabulous August 26, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

      Nope, I think I got all I needed to know from your blog. Thanks!

  2. Sarah Klassen/Haute Design August 26, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

    Lovely makeover ~

    The newly remodeled look is so timeless…I just adore the new curtains — they seem to dress the room in such a simple, yet elegant way. I would love some! Also, the seat cushions look perfect — they add such a pretty flair to the table area, and make it such a statement!

  3. Waxy August 26, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    Looks great – both the before & after actually!!! Amazing what talented people can do with so little $$$…

  4. Sherry @ Young House Love August 30, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

    Gorgeous! Love that stencil job. I would totally get it crooked too. So glad you slipped us your card so we can drop in on your blog. Off to poke around…

    xo,
    s (& j)

Leave a Reply

