Just when I thought I couldn’t take anymore Brown

2 Oct

Just when I thought I had had enough chocolate brown (I am truly sick of aqua and brown) I find this lovely picture via Things that Inspire. This is chocolate brown done right. It is all about elegance, balance, and soft contrasts. The mistake most people have made with the whole “aqua and brown craze” is using an aqua that is too bright and a brown that is too rich. This mistake in combination with having everything in the room be aqua and brown is sooo overdone. This room is a perfect example of a soft neutral brown being perfectly complimented with soft neutrals tones of beige, cream, and gray. The key to the beauty in this room is the easy flow. There are no shocking color contrasts and all the neutrals have a “gray undertone” which makes them cool and relaxing.

amydmorris_090316_044final_thumb[1]

 

2 Responses to “Just when I thought I couldn’t take anymore Brown”

  1. Sarah Klassen/Haute Design October 6, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    I’m so glad you agree! I decorated a room with brown and blue about 8 years ago, and have since become increasingly tired of seeing this combo. I totally agree that subtle is much better — what a pretty room! I have that very table — it looks so pretty as a side table with flowers below. I might have to try that look somewhere…

    Thanks for the lovely inspiration 🙂

  2. FROM THE RIGHT BANK October 8, 2009 at 4:47 pm #

    I’m with you. I am so over any blue and brown combination. The bed in this room is absolutely gorgeous. Brown done right!

Leave a Reply

