Could Less be More?

5 Jan

I have found myself struggling with what to hang over my bed. I just can’t seem to find something I think works. I have a curved headboard and I don’t like squared frames above that shape for some reason (don’t know why, I just don’t). So I came cross the picture above while blog surfing and read the caption. It was perfect! I think I kinda feel the same way. Maybe I don’t need anything above the bed. You know that feeling you get when you walk into an empty room with freshly painted walls, I like that feeling like the designer said above. So I think (for my new house) I will not put anything above the bed and see is simplicity wins out.

It was quite coincidental that I found this picture yesterday in House Beautiful and mentioned I liked the “no art above the bed” thing.

Images via Papillon Linens, House Beautiful

2 Responses to “Could Less be More?”

  1. Sarah Klassen/Haute Design January 10, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    That’s very true! For a few years, I had nothing above my bed, because nothing was right, and after awhile, I just left it. It has a certain focus on sleep and relaxation, without art, perhaps…

  2. Paula Grace January 10, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Hey if the feeling fits ~ go with it. I think you’re right! I have clients that tell me what they think they should have. After speaking with them to get to know them, I find out their real tastes…. they can be quite different so the feeling is very important!
    Paula Grace

Leave a Reply

