Project #1 in my New Place

9 May

One of my favorite things to decorate is my mantel and my new home was in desperate need of a mantel redo. So I decide to work on this as my first project in my new place.

As you can see above, the townhome was built “pre-flat screen” and a giant hole was put in to hold a 36″ TV. So, I decide to use this space as the perfect hiding space for all my “knick-knacks” and the TV antenna.

Then is was off to my local craft store to buy a large canvas to paint. I choose a quiet landscape. What do you think?

Then I added a few vases around the hearth.

First, I decided to go into my backyard and snip a few rose buds. I had some cute glass jars I had saved from some reed diffusers that  had ran out which I used as vases. This was ok, but I thought I could do better.

So I took some tips from Tracy Porter (see video above) and added a little “this and that” I had lying around. Some pretty candles, a couple of books and bookends, and a chipped urn. The evolution began.

Notice my clever way of hiding that darn cord but I didn’t stop there.

I didn’t like how the roses seemed to jump out at you, so I ditched them. I added a pink orchid and some paper umbrellas I picked up at a thrift store years ago. Oh, and I also added a tiny mirror (another thrift find).

Just a few more finishing touches.

Here I my final result…for now that is. As Tracy Porter suggests, my mantle is always changing. Good thing I have that hiding place for my ever-growing “knick-knack” collection. The key here is to store them and change them occasionally instead of putting them all out and creating clutter.

Well, hope you liked my first project. Stay tuned for more to come.

One Response to “Project #1 in my New Place”

  1. tiina May 20, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    I love love love it! It’s so great, nice coloring! But, did you paint that yourself? Goodness! I would split open that Chinese paper umbrella, I love those things and it would look great in that fabulous pink Ikea vase! Good work! I’ve also been styling our home a bit, have a look at my latest small DIY 🙂

    http://elcestockholm.blogspot.com/2010/05/little-home-fix.html

Leave a Reply

