Change It Up With Reclaimed Containers!

20 Dec

The image above has been begging me to use it in a blog recently. “Why” I wondered to myself, “do I like this picture so much?” There was just something about the beautiful decor in this image that really appealed to me. Then finally it hit me. I am in love with this image because of the way they used the containers on the sofa table to spice up the entire space. I can see myself standing in that room and identifying that without the glass containers with the tall foliage the room would be nice but not utterly striking.

Reclaiming containers to be used for displaying items, as a retail merchandiser, has been in my repertoire for years . I find myself also decorating my home as a retail merchandiser. I use containers to add texture, color, and height to a space or items that otherwise might be lacking interest. The above image is so strikingly simple and yet dramatic. You may be thinking, “I don’t have cool containers like these.” Well that is a simple fix. Make a visit to your local antique store (*before you go scour your favorite design blogs for inspiration) and start hunting for unique containers of different scales that appeal to you. Focus is key as you shop. Remember what you are there for and don’t get distracted. Look at items not as what they are but what they could be. THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX. Go home and start playing with items you already own to fill the containers with. Go outside and snip branches and foliage to enliven your “display.” Step back from your “display,” critique your work, and edit.

The most exciting thing about using reclaimed containers for decor is that you can change your space all the time. For Christmas use a bucket like above to put your Christmas tree in. During the year fill this bucket with stones and moss, guest soaps and a luffa, magazines, or utensils.

Use containers to store otherwise unattractive items such as soaps, jewelry, sewing supplies, etc… The key here is to group items in like color or type that make sense together. What I am NOT telling you to do is have bowls all over your home with junk thrown in them!

PAINT IS YOUR FRIEND. The above container on this table is I believe an old bird bath painted and placed on the coffee table. The texture it adds to the room is ingenious.

The above container could be used in a garden or inside as a magazine rack. Use it in your kitchen to store soda bottles (I never have room for these and they are SO ugly!) Put a glass top on this to use as a side table!

Above is my 2010 Christmas tablescape. I just recently purchased this silver bowl from my local antique store for $10. It is from Tiffany’s even!! I already owned the other containers on the table. I randomly staggered the heights of the containers low, then high, then lowest (another key to decorating with containers). I blended the shiny textures with the rough textured candles and soft snow. I will use the containers to display something totally different after Christmas.

Hope you can take some of my key secrets to using containers in your decor to spice up your home for all seasons. Enjoy and have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. I will be back after the holidays to share more of my inspiration and design secrets. Until then!

 

One Response to “Change It Up With Reclaimed Containers!”

  1. classiq December 22, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    such lovely ideas! Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

