House Hunting Scrapbook

16 Jan

Since the last round of house hunting didn’t pan out, I haven’t had a ton of those “designer wheels can’t stop turning” moments. Being in a rental, where you can only change so much kinda puts the “kibosh” on that. But you know as soon as the house hunting talk is back on my mind has been reeling with ideas of designs plans. So time for another “house hunting scrapbook” post. I have to post my most inspiring images now, so in a few months I can remember those moments of inspiration. So for the sake of my terrible memory, be inspired by these fabulous design pics.

These are my IKEA curtains! One of the greatest things I ever bought at IKEA and for some strange reason I only bought one pair. They discontinued these of course. Why?????? I have hunted for these curtains on Ebay, Craigslist, you name it… They are so fabulous and the colors so soft. So if any one out there wants to get rid of theirs let me know. But why would you? These guys have popped up in magazines, in TLC’s  “What Not to Wear” studio, and at least I have one pair. This image above via Desire to Inspire is such a inspiration as to how to decorate with something I already have.

These floors are so chic! They are a wood and tile combo. A first glance, I thought to myself, “I can paint the floors to look like that!” Then I hesitated, “That would be too risky for resale.” Ugh… I get so tired of hearing/thinking that. I immediately decided that this kind of bold, creative designing is what really makes a room! So I am reminding myself that I will not be afraid to take risks for the sake of fabulous design. You may see some pics in the future of a floor in my home looking very similar to this image via Things That Inspire.

I love the grouping of mirrors on the wall in this room! Reminder to mix it up when it comes to wall art. Symmetry is for the birds! via Dress, Design, and Decor

I can’t remember where I found this image (SORRY!), but I had to post it! The color palette is something I have desired to achieve for years! I am almost there I think. Finally letting go of some items that are just too colorful for the sake of a soothing, spa-like color palette that I can relax in. Reminds me of a chic Paris apartment on a breezy summer day. I dream!

I love this wall color! via CoteDeTexas

I love this bed cover! I am pretty sure I can make this. Not a huge fan of the mantel headboard, I want a tufted headboard instead. I love the embroidered linens though! via Velvet and Linen

That’s all I’ve got for now. Until next time!

2 Responses to “House Hunting Scrapbook”

  1. Lila Ferraro January 17, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    I love a tufted headboard as well, but personally, I love that mantel! Kudos to you for thinking you can make that bed skirt…I could not in my wildest dreams. Oh, and they are wild! (Dreams that is)
    xoxo
    Lila Ferraro

  2. onlywhatilove March 1, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    What are those curtains called? I have also been looking FOREVER for a pair, and cursing myself for not picking them up back in the day. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

