Storage Please!

14 May

Well here we are. Tons of boxes hide my beautiful floors as I struggle to still see the potential beautiful space underneath all the mess. While there is lots of work to be done, I had to decide what was the first and most important thing to start. It is hard for me to resist diving into hanging art and putting out pretty things and to start with the proper organizing and storing of things. This time though I am forcing myself to do it right and I started with organizing.

I fell in love with Ikea’s new finish on their Ekby shelves. It is a high gloss white. It is so glossy it is covered with that protective blue film to protect the finish.

Then to add even more shine I bought these polished nickel finished brackets from Ikea as well.

I decided I would put these shelves in the bathroom for some much-needed storage.

Here is the bathroom before and after:

Not bad huh?!? I love making storage and function beautiful. Remember function doesn’t have to be boring. Find cute boxes, shelves, etc to store your items. You will create a beautiful space you will want to keep clean and pretty.

Ok so here is what the shelves really look like when all my stuff is out.

Still not so bad though huh?!?

Another unique and creative organization idea I came up with was inspired by a salvage yard purchase of this “cool old gate”. The ticket even said “cool old gate”! I agreed.

I got the gate for 40% off! What a deal!

Here is the first use of it. As a jewelry holder in my bathroom.

It does a fantastic job as my jewelry organizer. This will probably be the first new life of many for this “cool old gate.” I am sure I will being moving this thing around the house to use for the next inspired space but for now I was in need of storage and organization which it is both! I love it.

So there you go. My first 2 projects of many. Can’t wait to show you the rest!

Until then, Katrina

5 Responses to “Storage Please!”

  1. Audrey May 14, 2011 at 4:01 am #

    I love the jewelry holder!!

  2. redbrickbuilding May 14, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    I love your shelves. Very mod-glam.

  3. Beverly May 14, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I LOVE the gate! It works so well for your jewelry.

  4. audrey May 15, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    Excellent use of the gate! For my jewelry in the bathroom I pushed a waist-high baker’s table (short one) underneath one of the towel racks. Then I used the towel rack (we have two others we used) and hung the necklaces around it! All the other jewelry boxes below. Loooove creative storage solutions!

  5. pickupsticksjewelry November 22, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Thank you Katrina, we love your blog, Design Fabulous! We shared your “cool old gate” on our facebook page here: http://www.facebook.com/Pick.Up.Sticks.Jewelry

Leave a Reply

