My Precious has Arrived!

8 Jun

Guess who showed up to surprise me last Friday, my Precious (a little “Lord of the Rings” throw back there). What I mean is my sofa is here! Finally after a month of waiting (which isn’t that bad for a custom-made sofa) my sofa finally arrived last week and I couldn’t be more pleased!

I ordered my sofa from a fabulous North Carolina furniture builder. I chose this sofa because it is extra deep (great for lounging in) but at the same time the two rows of pillows support your back if you want to sit up straight (for entertaining purposes because you can’t slouch in a LBD). I also loved the long bench cushion and elegantly rolled arms that are not too over-stuffed but not too modern.

I hand select the fabric, of which I chose two. The back, sides, and back pillows are in an intricate trellis pattern of dark taupe and cream. Complimenting the trellis pattern is a casual, yet sophisticated stripe in taupe and cream. I love how the trellis pattern is feminine and French, while the stripe has a masculine “menswear” appeal. The combination is stunning and inviting!

So here is a review of the progress so far: We went from this…

To this…

To this…

Not too shabby! Stay tuned for the budget breakdown and be amazed by just how little it took to create this look.

8 Responses to “My Precious has Arrived!”

  1. Dorothy Durbin Interior Designs June 11, 2011 at 4:49 am #

    I love the detail on the sofa!

    • designfabulous June 11, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks glad you like it!

  2. lanalou June 11, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    I love the two fabric designs you chose, they work so well together. Also love the two displays on either side of your sofa, such a great look!

    • designfabulous June 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      Thanks! Appreciate the comment. It is always good to hear others thoughts. Glad you like it!

  3. Mishelle October 30, 2011 at 4:08 am #

    Hello,

    i just came across your blog. I could not find your contact info. I love your sofa. I am an interior designer in Southern California. Do you mind sharing the source of your sofa and fabric. thanks so much Look forward to following your blog.

    • Mishelle November 10, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      Thanks so much for your reply!! I was so excited to see your response!! Many Thanks!! Mishelle

  4. Jackie February 28, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Where did you get the sofa from in North Carolina? And if you don’t mind me asking, how much was it? It is a truly lovely sofa.

    • designfabulous March 5, 2012 at 2:03 am #

      I’m sorry to say I cannot reveal the vendor of the sofa to protect my work places interests. I sincerely apologize.

Leave a Reply

