My Space!

1 Sep

I finally have pictures of my fresh new office. I designed the space for blogging and sewing/crafting. I wanted a space that was cheerful and inspirational and that really said KATIE! Well I think I nailed it. Here is the big reveal.

The room before was a plan blank canvas, white walls, beige carpet, etc… Your typical builder grade small bedroom. I don’t seem to have a before picture which saddens me but here is a picture I snapped with my phone right after painting.

Of course from this pictures lighting and without anything else in the room the walls felt a little bit neon. I knew that it would all come together in the end though.

I had a simple white desk from Ikea already so I added 2 Expedit bookcases to the mix.

One I put on its side on casters for a sewing table with storage. I can pull this out to the middle of the room when sewing so the fabric has somewhere to spread out. I picked up these fabulous new vintage “linen-look” file boxes from Ikea as well to store “do-dads” and stored all my fabric swatches, remnants, etc below.

Then there was artwork. I used remnants of Thibaut wallpaper inside Ikea frames. They were the perfect color combo of Apricot, Aqua, and Green all softened by the yellow background. I loved the Pagoda lanterns in this wallpaper which is why I picked it.

Then not to be left out, the other side of the room I framed some typography art and added some accessories to the top of the bookcase. I also picked up a fabulous pinboard framed in gray (seen below again) from Home Goods for just $24.

Then some finishing touches from things I already owned (always a good thing!).

First my favorite Thrift find chair.

My fav chair, shown here in true “Glamour Shot” style with a cute pillow made by yours truly, has bits of coral and aqua throughout this traditional needlepoint toile fabric. I heart this chair for real and it only cost $25!

Then finally one of my favorite lamps, one because it is fabulous and two because it was free, pulls the color scheme together.

I will be adding curtains soon in this Thibaut plaid.

I will show you the curtains when they are up. Until then I hope you liked my inspiration space and were inspired yourself.

Until next time!

7 Responses to “My Space!”

  1. Beverly September 1, 2011 at 2:59 am #

    it’s so beautiful!! can’t wait to see it in person 🙂

  2. Sara Labiosa September 1, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    Looks awesome! I love the color choice and your decorating!

  3. Dorothy Durbin Interior Design September 1, 2011 at 4:17 am #

    This is a wonderful space filled with energy. I tell my clients to fill their office space with things that give them energy. If it takes energy away it out of the space. You have done the same things that I have been doing in office recently. Ikea, framing wallpaper, Homegoods and using things you already have in your home. A very good thing. I love the chair. What a find. I am always on the hunt for old chairs that need a home. I just have a problem letting them go to clients sometimes. You are FABULOUS!

  4. Jennifer September 1, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Love this! Have you posted to paint color anywhere? I’m looking for a similar shade of Apricot.

    • designfabulous September 2, 2011 at 2:07 am #

      Jennifer, thanks for asking! The paint color is Sherwin Williams 6878 Animated Coral.

      • Jennifer September 3, 2011 at 12:36 am #

        Thanks! Very excited … this is for my front door, we’ve already been through a dozen colors. This one looks promising!

  5. Jamie Wrenn September 1, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Katie! I love your “space”! It’s so beautiful! You would be so proud of how our house is coming along…still step by step, but it’s looking really cute (if I do say so myself).

    We miss you guys!~ Jamie

Leave a Reply

