“Do the shuffle”

3 Aug

Nine times out of ten when I am decorating, I am reusing the same stuff I already have. As a stay-at-home mom, I don’t really have extra money to toss around whenever I get in the mood to redo. So, I simply “do the shuffle”.

The shuffle is sometimes just something that hits me that would look much better in another place. Sometimes is takes much contemplation and planning. However it comes, I am usually very happy with the result (at least till another urge to shuffle hits me).

For example, you see the gazelle, silver plates, and sunburst mirrors in the image below?

Image

Welp, here they are again in a totally different spot, and even different rooms. The gazelle is even sporting a different skin!

Image

Image

Image

(via Young House Love)

Then there is my traveling framed fabric. It shows up in three different spots.

Image

(via Young House Love)

Image

Image

My green lamp shows up in the old work room (now play room), then in Luke’s nursery with a different shade. This shade is now on a different lamp in my bedroom.

 Image

Image

Image

(via Young House Love)

Then the expedit traveled from the work room to the living room.

Image

Image

(via Young House Love)

The point is, you don’t have to spend money to scratch that decorating itch. You can simply “do the shuffle”. Your space will come out looking fresh and new again. Ahhh!!

(P.S. Sometimes putting stuff away for awhile can declutter and bring a fresh life to your space. Then a few months later, bring it back out and tada, fresh again!)

Until next time, Katrina

Leave a Reply

