DIY Chalk Paint Experiment

7 Aug

I have been reading a lot about chalk paint recently (I know I am a little late on the band wagon). I decided to try it out for myself. I went with a DIY recipe made from supplies I already had at home for a couple of reasons. First, I didn’t want to pay for the paint, and free is always better. Second, it was a spur of the moment project and I didn’t want to wait for the paint. Sometimes impatiences works out and sometimes it doesn’t.

I grabbed a bucket of leftover paint from the garage and some baking soda from the kitchen. I went by a recipe I found on Pinterest: 1 cup paint, 1/2 baking soda, 3 tbls. water. I dumped it all in a solo cup (I didn’t want to wash anything afterwards except the brush of course :)) and stirred. Here is a glimpse of my supplies.

Image

Pretty simple so far.

I decided to try a couple of different ways to use the paint. First on upholstery. I have read that you can paint upholstery with chalk paint. I thought, “Well you can actually paint anything with chalk paint but should you?” I have tried painting upholstery before and it didn’t turn out well. It was hard and crusty and uncomfortable. I wanted to give it one more go just in case.

I decided to paint my ottoman. It was on clearance due to a ink mark on it. Since I brought it home it has experienced many spit-ups and other various baby spills. In other words, it has seen better days. Also, it was not exactly a color that I loved, a boring beige.

Image

I also decided to paint the legs on my white wingback chairs. They were a Goodwill find that I had reupholstered. I didn’t mind the wood tone legs but I thought it may be fun to change them.

Image

(via Young House Love)

I simply painted just as normal. After the first coat I was a little scared. The baking soda seemed to be flaking everywhere, rolling up as I brushed.

Image

Yikes! I didn’t give up though (well it was really too late for that).

The next day I finished the second coat. I am pretty pleased with the result.

Image

The paint on both pieces has a soft and ultra matte look. The ottoman looks so soft! You ask, “But is it really soft?” Well….., NO. It isn’t soft. I have plans to keep working on it. The flaky baking soda went away during the second coat and then I sprayed it with a coat of scotch guard to kinda seal it. It isn’t bad for something you put your feet on but I wouldn’t sleep on it (luckily I don’t have to). This may be a temporary redesign for this ottoman. I just spotted a new fabric outlet near my house today so there may be plans for a slipcover in its future. However, I do actually like the result for a free and easy project. The chair legs turned out perfect. I never had any doubt that they wouldn’t.

So here is a before:

Image

(via Young House Love)

and After:

Image

After the result I decided I needed to bring some of the gold accents and warmth of the wall decor down to the ottoman. So I did a new vignette on the ottoman,

Image

Welp, that it my DIY chalk paint experiment. Over all I would give it an A-.

Until next time, Katrina

4 Responses to “DIY Chalk Paint Experiment”

  1. Judith Minegar August 7, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    Now you need to try Amy Howard One Step Furniture Paint! In this confusing backbiting world of “chalk” paint, AH One Step is the superior product and it is only 28.00! It goes a LONG way! You don’t have to wax it unless you want to! Try it!

    • designfabulous August 8, 2013 at 12:20 am #

      Great suggestion. I will have to try it out on my next piece. Sounds great!

      • Judith Minegar January 10, 2014 at 3:50 am #

        Could you please remove my comment above? In my experience, AH One Step paint did not adhere to the surfaces that I painted. Sorry.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sittin’ Pretty! A Highchair makeover. | Design Fabulous - August 16, 2013

    […] I decided to just paint the top and leave the legs as is. I wanted to leave some the original finish because I liked the warm wood tones in the kitchen and it kept some of the original charm. I used some leftover yellow paint from the garage and mixed up some chalk paint from the DIY recipe I posted about before (see here for recipe). […]

Leave a Reply

