Ikat Lovin’!

12 Aug

Still percolating my entryway makeover project. Last night I found a BEAUTIFUL ikat stencil from Olive Leaf Stencils. I immediately had a “duh, why didn’t I think of that earlier” moment. I have been wanting to add wallpaper to the entry for a long time but did not want to pay the cost of wallpaper. This is the perfect solution!

Here is what the entry would look like with the stencil (well kinda). Image

 

 

I like this idea better than the stripe (see my previous post here for my original “Makover” post where I describe the stripe idea). However, both options are great ideas.

The ikat will work perfectly here because I do not have to stencil the entire wall, just the top. I am not one of those people that can stencil an entire room and keep it straight and perfect!! No REALLY, I am NOT! GREAT DIY TIP: Keep it real! Don’t start a project that is beyond your skill level and you cannot practically accomplish. You will only leave frustrated. Attend some classes and get some knowledge to expand your skills. However, classes aren’t going to fix my “can’t keep it straight” problem. I have learned this the hard way. (Shrug) No one is perfect and I am ok with that :)!

Also, get the correct tools! I also found a great stencil level on Etsy here: CuttingEdgeStencils. This should (fingers crossed) help keep this project on the up’n’up!

Here is the entire stencil in full view. Isn’t it great! They offer a lot of amazing stencils on this site, so go check it out if you are looking for unique “wallpaper” stencils for an upcoming project. Image

 

Until next time, Katrina

Leave a Reply

